Teaching English in Yugoslavia

Yugoslavia was formed in 1918 and existed through most of the 20th century. For much of this time it was ruled by the communist General Tito who tended to distance his country from the west.

Following his death internal tensions rose and the country divided and broke up into various states. In general those states began to look to the west and learning English.

Currently there is a great drive to join the European Union‏‎ and learning English has become a priority.

Yugoslavia broke into:

  • Bosnia‏ & Herzegovina
  • Croatia‏‎‎
  • Kosovo
  • Macedonia (FYROM)
  • Montenegro
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia

Search the orange links to read about teaching English in each of these countries.

Useful Links

Teaching English in the Balkans

Did you know that if you subscribe to our website, you will receive email notifications whenever content changes or new content is added.
1. Enter your e-mail address below and click the Sign Me Up button.
2. You will receive an email asking you to confirm your intention of subscribing to our site.
3. Click the link in the email to confirm. That’s all there is to it!

Enter your email address below to subscribe to IWeb TEFL.

Note: if you wish to unsubscribe from our site, click the unsubscribe link at the bottom of the email you received.
Then indicate you no longer wish to receive our emails.

Thank You
IWeb TEFL Team

Posted in Country Guides.

Leave a Reply