Cambridge Assessment‏‎ – UCLES

Cambridge Assessment is the brand name of UCLES or the University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate which is a non-teaching department of Cambridge University.

Cambridge Assessment is responsible for setting and grading a number of international English examinations. UCLES started in 1858 with their Proficiency in English examination introduced in 1913.

Cambridge ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) is part of Cambridge Assessment and runs the following examinations:

General English

  • Certificate of Proficiency in English Examination (CPE)
  • Certificate of Advanced English (CAE)
  • First Certificate in English (FCE)
  • Preliminary English Test (PET)
  • Key English Test (KET)

General English – Modular Assessment

  • Certificates in English Language Skills (CELS)

Business English

  • Business English Certificates (BEC)

English for Young Learners

  • Cambridge Young Learners English Tests


  • IELTS – International English Language Testing System

Qualifications for Teachers


See Also

Learner Levels – to compare the level of Cambridge exams with other exam bodies.

Did you know that if you subscribe to our website, you will receive email notifications whenever content changes or new content is added.
1. Enter your e-mail address below and click the Sign Me Up button.
2. You will receive an email asking you to confirm your intention of subscribing to our site.
3. Click the link in the email to confirm. That’s all there is to it!

Enter your email address below to subscribe to IWeb TEFL.

Note: if you wish to unsubscribe from our site, click the unsubscribe link at the bottom of the email you received.
Then indicate you no longer wish to receive our emails.

Thank You
IWeb TEFL Team

Posted in How To Teach English, Qualifications for Students.

Leave a Reply